3 Reasons Not to Blog

by danyaneering

In prep for knocking out my first blog post in eons, I just read a great piece on how to deliver killer blog content that asked me to raise my right hand and swear swear swear that I would never ever write an “I’m sorry for not posting on my blog forever” post. So, instead of writing the self-indulgent post I originally had in mind (“I’m soooo busy!” “I haven’t come up with any brilliant ideas lately.”), I’m spitting out 3 reasons why I’m going to stop blogging altogether…and you should, too.

1. Stop Talking. Do.

Danyaneering is NOT about sitting back and an passively watching opportunities go by. Get out and learn things, then act on your new knowledge and use it to improve your companies, your neighborhoods, whole industries. Don’t just talk about what you believe in or are passionate about. I did it all wrong when I wrote an absurdly long post about what the world would be like if women ran it. I’m incredibly determined about women, in particular, bucking the status quo and taking the reigns, and one piece of advice I gave in the post was for women to collaborate more; I should have taken action and brought together powerful, female mentors and ambitious, eager women like myself. I did the right thing when I wrote about how to tell your story and then actually taught a class on the topic (to over 25 students now!). That particular combo – topic teaser + class – was inspired by Mike K’s incredibly rich post (and subsequent class) on how to launch your startup idea for less than $5K.

2. People and Gnats Have Similar Attention Spans.

Maybe attention spans are a myth altogether, but I agree with the sentiment that “[they] used to be robust; now they are stunted.” I come across, valuable, fascinating, witty content every single day on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr, whether I’m queuing up tweets for Skillshare or I’m taking a break from work and am trying to learn something new and different from the many, many insightful people on the Interwebs. There’s something perfectly satisfying about the instant gratification that comes from bite-sized nuggets of wisdom and intrigue. We’ve all got tons to share, though not everything fits neatly on a blog. I want to tweet out photos of outfits I’m wearing and like, and I’m going to use Facebook to post on the wall for the the locals’ group I started for friends in my Brooklyn neighborhood. No need to bog down people with more text than they need (or want) to see!

3. Stop Being Self-Indulgent.

Stop hiding behind your computer screen and actually engage. First, be humble. I do believe – deeply – that we’ve each got something of value to share with each other, whether knowledge or a skill or a funny tidbit, but why not stop and think for once before putting out content? I’m not advocating waiting for the “perfect” idea, since that’ll never come, but it might actually be worth stewing on a topic before putting it out there and hoping that people will trudge through a 500+ word essay.

Second, we do enough gchatting with the people sitting right next to us at work; instead of staying seated in your ergonomically correct rolly chair and writing another post and hoping others will get value from it, go to a meetup or a class to connect with people on a topic that you’re curious about or even an expert in.  If you must remain virtual, retweet interesting links and comment intelligently and emotionally on sites or posts that inspire/anger/educate you.

So, I’m going to stop blogging and start writing. I’m going to spend most of my time interacting with others and learning by doing, so that when I DO write, I’ll hopefully deliver something substantive and valuable. I plan to up my engagement and contributions via Twitter and Facebook, in particular, by sharing stuff I like. And I’m going to start adding my two cents to articles I read if I’ve got questions or extra insight that doesn’t necessarily require an entire blog post of my own. Sure, my tweets might get lost amidst the zillions that go out every day and it might take another season change for me to come up with a disruptive, unique, brief blog post, but I’ve got a plan. I’m aiming to post every 4-6 weeks at most, which’ll force me to be more creative, focused, and timeless. Calendar invites are going out to me, myself, and I to ensure I actually put pen to paper in a meaningful way once and a while. In the meantime, I’m actually going to try to reach people on a regular basis – online and IRL – with accessible, actionable, digestible info.

